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Vermont’s Smoke-Free Laws: Smoking in Public Places Public Places Law 
 

This law, which is also called the Clean Indoor Air Act, bans the smoking of tobacco products in nearly all the common 

areas of indoor “places of public access.” This includes any place of business that serves the public or that the public 

has access to use – both public and privately owned and for profit or not-for-profit organizations.  

 

Examples of public places that prohibit smoking: 

 Buildings and offices 

 Means of transportation 

 Common carrier waiting rooms, like bus stations 

 Arcades, libraries, theaters, concert halls, auditoriums, arenas, shopping malls, museums, art galleries, sports 
and fitness facilities, planetariums, historical sites, barber shops, hair salons, laundromats 

 Restaurants, bars, and cabarets, including private clubs and bars 

 Retail and grocery stores 

 All areas of hotels and motels, including lobbies, guest quarters, hallways, elevators, restaurants, restrooms, and 
cafeterias 

 Buildings or facilities owned or operated by social, fraternal, or religious clubs 

 Common areas of nursing homes and hospitals and all grounds of any State-owned or operated hospital or 
residential recovery facility 

 Within 25 feet of all State-owned buildings and offices, excepting areas not owned by the State 
 
 

Private schools are included. A separate Vermont law bans all tobacco use and the use of tobacco substitutes (e.g. e-

cigarettes) on the grounds of public schools, at school-sponsored events, and at licensed childcare centers at all 

times and by all persons. Tobacco and tobacco substitute use is prohibited at licensed childcare homes while children 

are in care. A separate Vermont law bans smoking in cars when a child in a car seat or booster seat is present. The 

Smoking in Public Places Law also applies to publicly owned buildings and offices which include indoor places or 

portions of places that are owned, leased, or rented by state, county or municipal governments, or by agencies 

supported by taxes. 

 

Where does the Smoking in Public Places Law not apply?  

Vermont’s Smoking in Public Places Law is comprehensive and includes all places of public access. 

 

What does an owner, manager or employee do if a patron is smoking a cigarette? 

 The law requires that the owner or manager ask the person to put out the cigarette. 

 If the person refuses then the law directs the owner, manager or employee to ask the person to leave the 
premise. 

 If the person refuses to leave then you may call a local police officer. A member of the public can also call 
the police. 

 

What are the penalties for violating the Smoking in Public Places Law? 

A person who is smoking in a public place, and an owner who does not take action as noted above, are both subject to 

penalties for noncompliance, including civil court action and criminal penalties up to $10,000 for each violation. 
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