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SECTION VII CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION RULES 

 
PART 22  RULES REGARDING CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION  
 
22.1  INTRODUCTION AND DEFINITIONS 
 
(a) Copies of the statute concerning continuing medical education for physicians, 26 

V.S.A. § 1400(b), are accessible online, and hard copies may be obtained from the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Practice. 

 
(b) These Rules pertaining to continuing medical education for physicians are adopted 

under authority of 26 V.S.A. § 1351(e) and 26 V.S.A. § 1400. 
 
(c) These are rules specifically regarding the requirement for physicians licensed by the 

Board of Medical Practice to complete continuing medical education (“CME”) during 
each two-year licensing period in order to be eligible to renew their license for the 
following two-year licensing period.    

 
(d) The words and phrases that are defined in 26 V.S.A. § 1311 shall have the same 

meaning here as assigned to them there. 
  
(e) The terms “hour” and “credit” are both used with respect to continuing medical 

education.  The term hour means an hour of activity that has been approved as 
qualifying to count toward satisfaction of the requirement for continuing medical 
education.  The term credit is also used as a measure of approved continuing medical 
education activity, and equals an hour of approved activity.   

 
(f) “Palliative care” refers to specialized medical care that is focused on relief from the 

pain and symptoms of a serious medical condition.   
 
22.2  MINIMUM EDUCATION REQUIREMENT – HOURS AND SUBJECTS  
 
(a) Except as provided in the following subparagraph, each physician applying for 

renewal of a license to practice medicine must certify that he or she has completed at 
least thirty hours of qualifying CME during the most recent two-year licensing 
period, naming the subject, sponsor, date, location, and hours or credits for each 
activity.  During the initial licensing period that the requirement is in effect, training 
during the six months preceding the licensing period may be used to satisfy CME 
requirements; training completed during the period June 1, 2012 through November 
30, 2012 will count as training completed December 1, 2012 through November 30, 
2014.  The licensee is not required to file documentation of CME that verifies 



completion at the time that it is reported, however it is the licensee’s responsibility to 
retain documentation for four years from the time the information is submitted to the 
Board.  The Board may audit records of CME for up to four years from the time of 
submission; a licensee is required to promptly submit documentation of CME 
completion in response to a request from the Board.     

 
(b)  For physicians licensed in Vermont for the first time during the most recent two-year 

licensing period, if licensed in Vermont for less than one year, there is no requirement 
for CME at the time of the first renewal.  If licensed for one year or more during that 
initial period of Vermont licensure, the licensee shall complete at least 15 hours of 
approved CME activity and those 15 hours shall include any subject-specific CME 
required by these rules.   

 
(c) Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board until the date 

of expiration.  Any physician who has not completed the required continuing medical 
education shall submit a make-up plan with his or her renewal application, as 
specified in these rules.   

 
(d) Except for required subjects that are mandated by these rules, all CME hours 

completed in satisfaction of this requirement shall be designed to assure that the 
licensee has updated his or her knowledge and skills in his or her own specialties and 
also has kept abreast of advances in other fields for which patient referrals may be 
appropriate.  A licensee’s “own area of practice” shall not be interpreted narrowly; it 
is acknowledged that training in many other fields may be reasonably related to a 
practitioner’s own specialties.   

 
(e) Required Subject:  Hospice, Palliative Care, Pain Management.  26 V.S.A. § 

1400(b) mandates that the Board of Medical Practice shall require licensees to 
provide “evidence of current professional competence in recognizing the need for 
timely appropriate consultations and referrals to assure fully informed patient choice 
of treatment options, including treatments such as those offered by hospice, palliative 
care, and pain management services.”  Accordingly, all licensees who are required 
under these rules to complete CME shall certify at the time of each renewal that at 
least one of the hours of qualifying CME activity has been on the topics of hospice, 
palliative care, or pain management services.   

 
(f) Required Subject:  Prescribing Controlled Substances.  All licensees who are 

required to certify completion of CME and who prescribe controlled substances shall 
certify at the time of each renewal that at least one of the hours of qualifying CME 
activity has related to the topic of safe and effective prescribing of controlled 
substances.  Each licensee who is registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency 
(D.E.A.) and who holds a D.E.A. number to prescribe controlled substances, or who 
has submitted a pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled 
substances.    
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(g) Licensees who are not in active practice shall still complete CME, including all 

required subjects, to be relicensed.  For purposes of subsection (b), a physician not in 
active practice may consider his or her last area of practice as the area of practice to 
which activity shall relate, or the activity may relate to a new area of practice he or 
she intends to pursue.   

 
(h) Licensees who are members of the armed forces and who are subject to a 

mobilization and/or deployment for all or part of a licensing cycle will be treated the 
same as licensees who are licensed for the first time during a licensing cycle.  To wit, 
a licensee whose military mobilization/deployment covers a year or more is not 
required to complete CME for that cycle.  A licensee whose military duties during the 
two-year cycle total less than one year shall be required to meet the CME requirement 
of at least 15 hours, including any required subjects.    

 
(i) A licensee who allows his or her license to lapse by not timely applying for renewal 

shall certify completion of all CME that would have been required had he or she 
remained licensed in order to be granted a renewal license.   

 
22.3  QUALIFYING CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 
 
(a) Only CME activities that are approved for American Medical Association Physician’s 

Recognition Award Category 1 Credit (AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM) qualify as 
approved Vermont CME.  

  
(b) Credit for providing training.  The Board accepts all AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM  

activity.  The AMA PRA program grants two hours of credit for each hour of training 
presented by a physician.  The Board recognizes those credits the same as the AMA 
PRA program.   

22.4  MAKE-UP PLANS 

(a) Any physician who has not completed the minimum number of hours of CME, or 
who has not completed the required subject-specific training, as of the deadline for 
submission of license renewal applications, will not be granted a renewal license 
unless the application includes an acceptable make-up plan signed by the licensee.   
The Board Executive Director is authorized to review and determine if make-up plans 
are acceptable.   

(b) An acceptable make-up plan must include a timeline for making up all CME that 
needs to be completed to satisfy the requirements of these Rules.  The timeline shall 
identify the approved activities that the licensee plans to attend.  The licensee may 
later substitute activities, but the plan shall indicate that it is the licensee’s good faith 
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intent to complete the activities listed at the time of submission.  A licensee shall have 
up to one hundred twenty (120) days to complete the CME make-up plan.   

(c)  Any licensee who will not complete a make-up plan within the time specified by the 
plan shall contact the Board at least 30 days in advance of the date on which the 
period will end to notify the Board and submit a revised plan and request for 
extension of time.  The request for extension of time must include an explanation of 
the reasons why the licensee was unable to complete the required training in 
accordance with the plan.  Extensions of the make-up plan period are limited to 90 
days, during which the licensee shall complete the required CME.  Further extensions 
will be granted only for good cause shown, for reasons such as:  serious illness of the 
licensee or a family member; death of an immediate family member; significant 
personal hardship, such as a house fire; significant and ongoing medical staff shortage 
during the make-up period; or similarly compelling reasons.  The Board may delegate 
to the Board Executive Director the authority to approve requests to extend the time 
for a make-up plan in accordance with these rules.  Any request for extension not 
granted by the Executive Director shall be considered by the Board.  

(d) CME activity completed as part of a make-up plan does not count toward satisfaction 
of the requirement to complete CME during that current licensing cycle; activity may 
only be counted once.  If a multi-hour activity is performed partly in satisfaction of a 
make-up plan and partly for the CME requirement associated with the current 
licensing cycle, the licensee shall clearly document the allocation.   

22.5  FAILURE TO CERTIFY COMPLETION OF REQUIRED CME, FILE A 
MAKE-UP PLAN, OR COMPLETE A MAKE-UP PLAN 

(a) A licensee who has failed to submit certification of completion of CME as required 
by law and these rules, or who having failed to certify completion of CME has failed 
to submit a make-up plan with his or her renewal application, will be notified of such 
failure and have not more than 15 days from receipt of notice to file with the Board 
either his or her certification of completion of CME or a make-up plan.   

(b) A licensee who fails to file a certificate of completion of CME at the end of a make-
up period, or to file a request for an extended make-up period, shall be notified of 
such failure and have not more than 15 days from receipt of notice to file with the 
Board either a certificate of completion of CME or another request for extension of 
time in which to make up CME. 

(c) A licensee who submits a certificate of completion at the time of submission of the 
license renewal application, or who has filed an acceptable make-up plan with the 
renewal application and is in the make-up period, or who having failed to complete 
the first make-up plan has received approval from the Board for an extended make-up 
period that has not yet expired, is in good standing with respect to CME requirements.   
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(d)  Any licensee not in good standing with respect to CME requirements is subject to 
investigation by the Board for unprofessional conduct.  

 


