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FAQs • For Child Care Providers about Vaccination Requirements and Reporting 

 

 

State laws establish vaccination requirements for babies and young children enrolled in regulated child care, and 

help to maintain high vaccination coverage rates. When more children are vaccinated, there is a much lower 

rate of vaccine-preventable diseases in the community where they live.  

 

What are the Vermont vaccination requirements for children enrolled in regulated child care facilities? 

Children must be up-to-date on all age-appropriate vaccines as outlined on the Vermont vaccination schedule:  

 

 

Age when enrolling: 

 

Immunizations required: 

 

2 – 3 months 

 

1 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV 

 

4 – 5 months 

 

2 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV 

 

6 – 14  months 

 

3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV 

 

 

15  – 17  months 

 

3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio 

1–4 doses each of Hib and PCV 

1 each of MMR and Varicella 

 
 

 

18  months – 4 years 

 

4 DTaP, 3 each of Hep B and Polio 

1–4 doses each of Hib and PCV 

1 each of MMR and Varicella 

 

DTaP:  diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis • Hep B: hepatitis B • Polio • Hib: Haemophilus influenzae b 

PCV: pneumococcal • MMR: measles, mumps, rubella • Varicella: chickenpox 

* Hepatitis A, rotavirus, and influenza vaccines are a lso strongly recommended, but are not required 

 

 

What documents do parents need to provide to child care program directors?  

Upon enrollment, parents are responsible for submitting an up to date immunization record from their child’s 

health care provider or a state Immunization Registry, or a signed exemption form for their child.  

How do child care program directors determine if chldren in their care are up to date with all required 

vaccinations? 

With parent’s permission, child care providers can access the Vermont Immunization Registry (IMR), a 

department database with an assessment tool, for children in their care. The IMR will evaluate records for 

compliance. For access to the IMR, call the Immunization Registry at 1-888-688-4667 or email IMR staff at 

IMR@vermont.gov. 

 



 

What are the reasons a child may enroll in child care without having all required vaccines? 

Parents who do not provide a record of all required vaccines, or a signed exemption form for their child, may 

submit a provisional admittance form to the child care program. The child must be actively catching up on all 

missing vaccines, and provisonal admittance may not exceed six months.  

Exemptions are allowed for children who cannot be vaccinated due to a medical condition. The medical 

exemption form, which must be signed by a licensed health care provider authorized to prescribe vaccines, must 

be submitted to the child care program director.   

Non-medical exemptions are allowed for those whose religious beliefs oppose vaccinations. To claim a religious 

exemption, a parent must review the required parent educational material and sign and submit a religious 

exemption form each year.  

Effective 7/1/2016,  philosophic exemption to vaccinations is not allowed. There is no phase-in period or 

grandfathering of existing prior year philosophic exemptions. 

 

What is the Annual Child Care Provider’s Survey? 

Child care providers must review immunization records and exemption forms for children in their care annually. 

Providers will complete an online survey by January 1st to report summary information only, children’s names 

and vaccination dates are not included in the report. An email will be sent from the Child Development Division 

in the fall with a link to the survey. 

 

Which child care facilities are required to complete the Annual Child Care Provider’s Survey ?  

All regulated child care programs are required to submit the annual child care provider’s immunization survey, 

with the exception of after-school only programs. 

 

When a child attends more than one pre-K or child care program, who reports the child on their survey? 

When children attend multiple regulated programs, such as pre-school, Essential Early Education (EEE), Head 

Start, and/or registered home child care, each provider must hold a copy of the child’s immunization record and 

include the child when they complete their survey. 

 

When a student attends school (any grade, kindergarten through 12th) and also attends any regulated child 

care provider, including pre-k, who reports the child on their survey? 

Each licensed or registered program must hold a copy of the child’s immunization record, however, once 

children are enrolled in kindergarten through 12 grade, the student is reported only by the school on their K-12 

survey.  

 

Which child care facilities are required to make their immunization  information available to parents and the 

public? 

Effective July 1, 2016, all center-based child care and pre-school programs must make their immunization rates 

for each required vaccine publicly available. 

 

How do providers make their facility’s immunization rates publicly available?  

Beginning in July 2016, immunization rates for center-based child care and pre-school programs, as reported the 

prior January, will be posted on the the Health Department webpage.  

 

Is more detailed information about meeting the immunization rules available to child care providers? 

The Health Department is developing a training module for credit that will be available through the Bright 

Futures Information System and Northern Lights Career Development Center in September 2016. 


