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EMS Leadership Conference Call
Thursday, June 7, 2012 - 11 a.m.
Attendees:  Chris Bell, Dan Wolfson, Mike Leyden, Jenna Protzko, Emily Lubell, Donna Jacob, Jim Finger, Mark Podgwaite, Allyn Girard, Carl Matteson, Patti Wolff, Chris McCarthy, Mark Considine, Scott Brinkman, Pete Soons, Jim Baraw, Mike Ball, Adam Heuslein, John Vose, Inge Smith-Luce
Legislative Update
The recently passed legislation that will be signed into law and effective July 1, 2012 is Act 155, previously Senate 106.  A link to Act 155 is below or can be found on our website at www.vermontems.org    The  EMS appropriate sections begin on page 32.  http://www.leg.state.vt.us/docs/2012/Acts/ACT155.pdf
Highlights of the new legislation are:
· $150,000 one-time fund to IREMS for paramedic program

· $150,000 annual funding to an EMS Special Fund to:

· Increase continuing education opportunities locally and online.

· Data collection and analysis

· Other activities relating to the training of emergency medical personnel and delivery of EMS and ambulance services in Vermont

· Framework from the Act 142 Committee’s recommended changes:
· Certification changing to license.  This change has no affect on providers or their ability to function.  Vermont is following a national trend, recognizing that the completion of the training itself is represented as certification, while the permission to function in a particular state and in a particular field is called a license.

When asked, Chris indicated it is not the intent of VDH to impose fees for licensure, other than those incurred through the National Registry’s certification process.

· Credentialing – the state is to set minimum standards for personnel; agencies will credential personnel and districts will assure agencies are credentialing personnel.  VDH is still assessing the affects to rule, since credentialing is now in statute.  EMS plans to engage the community in suggestions and best practices, and to create a tool kit and standards for agency use.  This will likely have to wait until rule writing.

· Rule writing – Rule writing is at least a 6-9 month process. 

· Establishing volunteer and career response time standards for urban and rural requests for emergency services.  Districts have been charged with developing protocols to help meet standards.  VDH is assessing the law and various national processes for establishing and measuring standards.  For example, NFPA standards exist.  As of yet, no other state has established EMS standards, but investigation continues.  Then the process will be opened to the EMS community.  No timetable was given for this part of legislation.

Mike Ball noted that there were two ways he saw to address the process: 1) purely analytical, with ideal circumstances, and 2) gathering data to see if the numbers were achievable. Chris noted that with SIREN moving toward being mandatory for transporting services, data analysis would be possible.  Mike added that the smallest of first responder services probably will never be on SIREN, to which Chris responded that at this time, first responder services are not required to report to SIREN at all.
Inge offered up the District 12 policy, and Chris said that the office would welcome any and all district policies.
John Vose noted that communities at present decide the level of service and response time.  Communities may decide for financial reasons that longer response times are okay.  He suggested involving the Vermont League of Cities and Towns (VLCT).  Chris said that both the VLCT and the advisory committee would have involvement.  He wondered if perhaps as a state, minimums should be set on specific types of calls such as cardiac arrest, recognizing that a 4-minute response time to anywhere in Vermont 90% of the time is not achievable.  There is nothing in statute or rule penalizing an agency for not meeting minimum standards at this time, but the office has been tasked by the legislature to develop response time standards.
Carl asked what might happen when a patient complained that a service did not meet the minimum response time standards.  Chris said he did not know at this time, but that Carl raised a valid point.  He noted that the office receives calls from towns occasionally, asking about their obligation to provide EMS to their community.  
· Continuing education – The Department shall make available on-line training opportunities and regional classes.  Staff are busy looking at existing partners for higher education that VDH can work with, utilizing a LMS (Learning Management System) platform. The Department is currently considering a platform with or without content. It may be necessary to issue an RFP or develop content within the state office and state-wide.
· Asynchronous learning (teacher and student on different plane) has a maximum of 10 hours allowed and it’s the Department’s hope to cover all 10 hours using the LMS platform.  The statute specifies that a system be in place by September 1, 2012 but doesn’t take effect until July 1, 2012.  At the same time, the office will consider method of delivering synchronous learning, which constitutes live CE hours, all of this with a vacant state training coordinator position.
Regional courses are offered by districts, and some of the ongoing discussions center around whether funding should be given to the districts to fund additional refresher and initial courses or whether instead to have the districts offer their current courses for free.  Chris is interested in any and all input, and the office will be reaching out to individual districts as well.

The LMS will probably have a greater cost than funding provided, so the total $150K may be used in the first year by the LMS.  It’s too early to tell and quotes are still being gathered.

· Relicensure grace period – The recent legislation specifies that an EMS provider shall have six months after his or her certification or license has expired to resubmit the necessary information for renewal of the certificate or license.  Since this does not extend the provider’s permission to practice and since the National Registry certification is already required for those individuals having allowed their certifications (licenses) to expire, this section of the statute has no real affect.

· Creation of EMS Advisory Committee – The committee is to be made up of 14 members, and chaired by the Commissioner of Health or his/her designee:
· 4 representatives of EMS districts, chosen from the 4 public safety districts. The EMS district is considered to be located in the public safety district in which it serves the greatest number of people.  Chris noted that this breaks down to:

· District 1, 3, 4 & 6 – 1 rep

· District 2 & 5 – 1 rep

· Districts 7, 10 & 12 – 1 rep

· Districts 8, 9, 11 and 13 – 1 rep

· A representative from the VAA or designee;

· A rep from IREMS at UVM or designee;

· A rep from the Professional Firefighters of Vermont (PFFV) or designee;

· A rep from the Vermont Career Fire Chiefs Assoc or designee;

· A rep from the VSFA or designee;

· An emergency department director of a VT hospital appointed by the VT Association of ED Directors or designee;

· An emergency department nurse manager of a VT hospital appointed by the Vermont Association of ED Nurse Managers or designee;

· A representative from the Vermont State Firefighters Association who serves as a first response or FAST squad;

· A rep from the VT Association of Hospitals and Health Systems (VAHHS) or designee;

· A local government member not affiliated with emergency medical services, firefighter services, or hospital services, appointed by the VT League of Cities and Towns.

Lynn Girard asked if the meeting minutes would be posted on line and Chris assured her that they would.  He also said it was his intent to broadcast the meetings as webinars.  

Jim Baraw asked if the district boards should be making nominations, and Chris said yes.  He said he planned to reach out to the district groups with a conference call to help facilitate discussions around the nomination of representatives, ways to rotate the duty, and other issues.  

· Data Dictionary – Jim Finger asked if there was a timeline to finalize the data dictionary for SIREN.  Chris said he suspected it would be another 2 months, allowing internal and stakeholder discussions.

· Adam Heuslein asked about the provision in Act 142 that allowed an individual to be certified at a higher level than the affiliated agency with agency and DMA approval.  That section was repealed as of July 1, and Adam wanted to be sure this didn’t affect intercepts.  Chris explained that there is another section of the statute that talks about students in training programs functioning under the supervision of an EMT at or above the level of the student’s training (precepting).  The section was repealed but only to resolve redundancy, since this practice already exists in rule.  
Criminal background checks 

Chris indicated that the EMS Office runs all applicants through VCIC (Vermont Criminal Information Center).  He has been asked whether agencies should be running their own background checks.  The first way an agency head is likely to know about a crime is if the individual self-discloses, and the second way is typically if the EMS Office finds an incident documented in VCIC.  If the later happens, the individual and the head of service(s) are notified.  If an individual has checked yes on the application, it is assumed the head of service knows about the incident.  Chris noted that if the service wants to run an individual more frequently than initial certification and subsequent recert cycles, they should develop their own system of background checks.  Also, if dealing with individuals from out of state, NCIC fingerprinting might be worth considering.  At present, the EMS Office is not set up to fingerprint applicants but if this issue perks to the top of the concern list, future discussions can occur.

Inge asked whether an individual should check “no” if a crime has been disclosed.  Chris told her and others that an applicant should always continue to check yes once a crime has occurred or has already been disclosed to the office, and where indicated, the nature, date occurred and date disclosed should be provided as asked for on the applicable form.

Jim Finger asked about the provider VCIC sweep done this winter.  Chris noted that a 2.5-3% rate of undisclosed crimes was revealed.  All folks and their heads of service have been notified.  As materials come in and actions are taken, letters are sent out.  Ray noted that probably 55 of the 77 have been dealt with and cleared.  Jim asked about criteria for denial and whether a set procedure is followed.  Chris said that the process is the same as if an individual had voluntarily disclosed the crime.  The individual is contacted and information is gathered, the person is invited in for an interview, a letter is issued to the applicant and head of service with a decision, and there is an appeal process in place first to the Commissioner, then the Board of Health, then the VT Supreme Court.
Tactical Support 
There’s been talk of developing a team through a 3-state MMRS effort to support the Vermont State Police Tactical Team.  However, because of national-level funding cuts, the VT/NH/ME MMRS no longer has funding.  VSP says it still has a need for tactical support, however.

Options are being investigated with all paramedic-level agencies to gauge interest in participating in regional tactical support.  With providers trained in each corner of the state, a paramedic crew could be called to stand by, not dissimilar to fire or EMS event standbys.  Staff will continue to work on this new concept.

Mike Ball asked why the pool was being limited to paramedics when a mixed crew would provide for a broader pool.  Chris said that they were targeting paramedic-level agencies not just paramedics.  Different types of interventions would require paramedic-level skills, but not all paramedic agency providers are certified (licensed) as medics.

Scott asked about the MMRS assets tied up around the state.  Will they become statewide assets?  Chris said that there have been discussions with FAHC and Dartmouth.  Dartmouth’s assets are coming to the state; FAHC is beginning discussions now.
State Training Coordinator 
No update.  Chris will update the listserv members with a new timeline.

EMS Conference 
Chris noted that a vendor has been chosen and an initial meeting will take place next week.  Several folks stepped up to volunteer for the EMS Conference Committee, but the state is not evenly represented by geography or agency type.  The conference committee will hold its first meeting in 2 weeks.
